Andy Sugg Group

The Andy Sugg Group is a Melbourne–based quintet that features Andy on tenor and soprano saxophones. It includes Aaron McCoullough (drums), Pat Farrell (bass), Nic Lam (guitar) and Kate Kelsey-Sugg (keyboard).

The Group’s music embraces an eclectic range of compositional influences, which include contemporary jazz, funk, R&B and avant-Pop. The ASG is Andy’s “blowing band”, in that it’s a vehicle for extended improvisation in the best traditions of contemporary jazz.

The Group’s current album, The Berlin Session, was recorded in Germany in 2011. It explores a more acoustic avant-garde setting and features Kate on piano, with Berliners Jan Leipnitz (drums) and Sean Pentland (double bass). While firmly grounded in its stylistic time and place, this is music that has left home. It is music in the moment, played by highly articulate musicians with something to say both as soloists and as members of a collective.

The ASG’s previous album, Brunswick Nights, was recorded live in Melbourne. And prior to this, After Utopia, featured New York sax legend David Liebman in his first recording with an Australian group over his twenty-five year association with that country.

“Brilliant, sparkling, strongly surging…Sugg is a high order musician.” Sydney Morning Herald

“Andy Sugg has a rich tone, a rock solid technique and a sure attack that makes him one of the hottest tenor players in the country. Sugg is an outstanding soloist.” Rhythms Magazine

“a dedicated warrior” David Liebman

“Andy Sugg, Afro-American rhythms from Australia: Is this Australian jazz’s moment to shine?” Corriere della Sera (Milan, Italy)